[Lights, Camera, Action]

Home    Forums    Tutorials    Search    Books    Links 

Windows Movie Maker tips, tutorials, forums and more...



 
Windows Movie Maker Home   Search   Login   Register   Member List  
Windows Movie Maker  > Windows Vista  > Re: Pulling hair out with encoding hang-ups    
Previous Thread :: Next Thread 
 Author Thread: Pulling hair out with encoding hang-ups
tj90 is not online. Last active: 4/25/2008 12:26:06 PM tj90
Joined: 25 Mar 2008
Total Posts: 4
 
Pulling hair out with encoding hang-ups
Posted: 25 Mar 2008 04:03 PM
After publishing project in movie maker, dvd maker opens and starts encoding. The encoding process usually hangs at 66.4, 98.9 % etc. Ive read the forums and tried slowing down the burn speed (medium and slow), turned off AVI decompressor in movie maker, Ive looked at any offending codecs and found none.

Im using a standard OEM installation of vista ultimate on my HP computer and HP burner that came with the system. Whats frustrating, is that I can successfully burn video projects 10% of the time. I thought I had figured out my burning problem, restarting the system after each burn but that did not help.. If the system hangs, the DVD sometimes looks untouched, sometimes its 75% burned. I just dont get it...

I tried moving to my copy of Nero 7 but that does not work inside of vista. Is there a software that allows me to burn a DVD project with my vista machine. Ill pay for software at this point. There is also an OEM installation of Roxio media creater 9 basic on the computer as well. Maybe it will work? Maybe its the source of my problems.... Dvdflick is another option but there is no way to create a title page with this software......
retexan599 is not online. Last active: 2/22/2015 12:05:45 PM retexan599
Top 50 Poster
Joined: 13 Jul 2007
Total Posts: 470
 
Re: Pulling hair out with encoding hang-ups
Posted: 26 Mar 2008 08:23 PM
It is likely that there is a problem with your source files. Check out this URL:

http://www.myvideoproblems.com/Tutorials/MovieMaker/File_type_compatibility.htm


John Hanley
Sugar Land, TX
Vista Home Premium; WMM 6.0
HP Pavilion d4890y; 2 GB Ram; E6420 Core2 Duo
tj90 is not online. Last active: 4/25/2008 12:26:06 PM tj90
Joined: 25 Mar 2008
Total Posts: 4
 
Problem solved! Found workaround!!!
Posted: 01 Apr 2008 01:43 AM


OK - after reading the link that was sent (thx for replying) I used Gspot to determine that my codecs were correct and present for encoding. However gspot had some kind of notice that 6.73 Gb unneeded bytes at end of file. Hmm, that doesnt seem right.

Anyway, thinking that maybe was wrong with the original AVI file, I wanted to convert the file to another format prior to encoding in DVDmaker.

I read on a post somewhere that someone found that after creating a movie in movie maker, DO NOT publish to DVD player. Instead, publish to computer and then select WMV. Take WMV file and burn movie in DVD maker. Whamo it works!!! Now Im trying the same method but instead of WMV, Im publishing to another AVI file. WMV file was 900Mb for 1 hour video versus 11G for AVI file.

Honestly, I dont see a quality difference with WMV on playback with my std DVD on tube 29in TV, but maybe there is a difference with AVI on a better TV. Anyway, Ill post results.

I hope this helps someone with encoding hangups and stalls in DVDmaker!
tj90 is not online. Last active: 4/25/2008 12:26:06 PM tj90
Joined: 25 Mar 2008
Total Posts: 4
 
Re: Problem solved! Found workaround!!!
Posted: 01 Apr 2008 01:46 AM
I forgot to mention that I tried many DVD authoring tools, and I came full circle back to Vista. I tried - Roxio, DeepDVD, Ashampoo, DVDflick, and Aimersoft. I thought the tools in Vista worked the best, easiest to use and most functionality.
tj90 is not online. Last active: 4/25/2008 12:26:06 PM tj90
Joined: 25 Mar 2008
Total Posts: 4
 
Re: Problem solved! Found workaround!!!
Posted: 01 Apr 2008 09:57 AM
I published to computer and selected AVI. This burned sucessfully as well.

ENJOY!
considerate_guy is not online. Last active: 8/7/2015 5:49:08 PM considerate_guy
movies.blainesville.com
Top 25 Poster
Forum Moderator
Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Total Posts: 24219
 
Re: Problem solved! Found workaround!!!
Posted: 01 Apr 2008 11:16 AM
Thanks for all the follow-ups.

Blaine
Movie Maker (Custom Titles, Effects. etc.)Cool
WMM 6.0 on Windows 7 or 8
YouTube videos
too_thirsty is not online. Last active: 7/31/2009 6:10:21 AM too_thirsty
Joined: 25 Jul 2009
Total Posts: 7
 
Re: Problem solved! Found workaround!!!
Posted: 25 Jul 2009 07:03 PM
I tried "publishing to computer", and even that failed ! ! ! ! !

Error messages about "not enough space" or "file formats" (neither is the case).

I have found that sometime I re-edit the movie and change the length of some movie clips and it works - but not in a predictable method.

What is up ???

I love the ease of use of MS Movie maker... but it is frustrating when it fails to create the DVD

I am running version: 6.0.6000.16386

too_thirsty

neophyte is not online. Last active: 3/9/2018 9:52:14 PM neophyte
neos-world.is-great.org
Top 25 Poster
Forum Moderator
Joined: 08 Aug 2006
Total Posts: 20182
 
Re: Problem solved! Found workaround!!!
Posted: 25 Jul 2009 09:48 PM
too_thirsty - welcome to the forums.

What's the file format of your source files? If they're an incompatible type such as MPEG-4, DivX, Xvid, MOV, FLV, etc, try using SUPER (it's a free download) to convert your files to avi format using ffmpeg and MS-mpeg4-v2 as the Video Output Codec. See this page for download instructions (as erightsoft doesn't provide a direct download link for it) and see the "Use a Given Converter" item on desilucy's "How Do I"? page for step-by-step instructions on using SUPER.

I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand. -- Confucius
too_thirsty is not online. Last active: 7/31/2009 6:10:21 AM too_thirsty
Joined: 25 Jul 2009
Total Posts: 7
 
Re: Problem solved! Found workaround!!!
Posted: 26 Jul 2009 08:24 AM
No no no... it is not the format of my files.

I have made dozens of movies successfully.

I am using the same video camera, and including music files from CD.

It usually works fine.

Nothing has changed.... except the constant MicroSoft updates.

I have found just editing the scenes, making them shorter or longer, sometimes makes the difference.

This looks like a bug in the code.

too_thirsty
neophyte is not online. Last active: 3/9/2018 9:52:14 PM neophyte
neos-world.is-great.org
Top 25 Poster
Forum Moderator
Joined: 08 Aug 2006
Total Posts: 20182
 
Re: Problem solved! Found workaround!!!
Posted: 26 Jul 2009 08:55 PM
too_thirsty - if all of your source files play normally in Windows Media Player, then go to "Tools > Options > Compatibility" in Movie Maker and uncheck all the filters ending in .ax and see if that helps.

I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand. -- Confucius
too_thirsty is not online. Last active: 7/31/2009 6:10:21 AM too_thirsty
Joined: 25 Jul 2009
Total Posts: 7
 
Re: Problem solved! Found workaround!!!
Posted: 26 Jul 2009 09:09 PM
All files that I am using DO play in Movie Maker.

And, like I say, most times I can perform the "publish" using the same camera and CD music files.

(all the files in the compatibilty list, except one, are of type .ax)

too_thirsty

neophyte is not online. Last active: 3/9/2018 9:52:14 PM neophyte
neos-world.is-great.org
Top 25 Poster
Forum Moderator
Joined: 08 Aug 2006
Total Posts: 20182
 
Re: Problem solved! Found workaround!!!
Posted: 26 Jul 2009 09:22 PM
Did you try unchecking all of the filters that ended in .ax? If you didn't, give that a try.

I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand. -- Confucius
too_thirsty is not online. Last active: 7/31/2009 6:10:21 AM too_thirsty
Joined: 25 Jul 2009
Total Posts: 7
 
Re: Problem solved! Found workaround!!!
Posted: 27 Jul 2009 05:25 AM
Yes, I tried that.

When publishing to the desktop (not DVD) I get the error: "insufficent disk space, source files nolonger available, or source file format error"

(I have lots of disk space, the source files are available when I watch the whole 31 minute movie inside of Movie Maker)

I appreciate your help.

2thirsty
neophyte is not online. Last active: 3/9/2018 9:52:14 PM neophyte
neos-world.is-great.org
Top 25 Poster
Forum Moderator
Joined: 08 Aug 2006
Total Posts: 20182
 
Re: Problem solved! Found workaround!!!
Posted: 27 Jul 2009 09:44 PM
too_thirsty - I know you don't think it's your source files; but, please post back with the file format of the source files you're using in your project. The reason I ask you to do that is that some file types may work in Movie Maker some times but not others.

I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand. -- Confucius
too_thirsty is not online. Last active: 7/31/2009 6:10:21 AM too_thirsty
Joined: 25 Jul 2009
Total Posts: 7
 
Re: Problem solved! Found workaround!!!
Posted: 28 Jul 2009 06:40 AM
I am using 3 different file types:

Movie Clip (.MOD)
Windows Media Audio file (.wma)
JPEG Image (.JPG)

I started over, with just the movie files & published successfully.
Then I added a Windows Media Audio file - and WHAMMO, the publish operation failed.

As I have mentioned, I have used the audio files before, I don't understand why it fails now.

too_thirsty
neophyte is not online. Last active: 3/9/2018 9:52:14 PM neophyte
neos-world.is-great.org
Top 25 Poster
Forum Moderator
Joined: 08 Aug 2006
Total Posts: 20182
 
Re: Problem solved! Found workaround!!!
Posted: 28 Jul 2009 10:30 PM
If yiour mod files play normally in Windows Media Player, try going to "Tools > Options > Compatibility" in Movie Maker and unchecking all the filters ending in .ax and see if that helps.

I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand. -- Confucius
too_thirsty is not online. Last active: 7/31/2009 6:10:21 AM too_thirsty
Joined: 25 Jul 2009
Total Posts: 7
 
Re: Problem solved! Found workaround!!!
Posted: 29 Jul 2009 05:13 AM
Yes, I already did that.

With all the .ax files unchecked, the publish operation still fails with the same error.

too_thirsty
neophyte is not online. Last active: 3/9/2018 9:52:14 PM neophyte
neos-world.is-great.org
Top 25 Poster
Forum Moderator
Joined: 08 Aug 2006
Total Posts: 20182
 
Re: Problem solved! Found workaround!!!
Posted: 30 Jul 2009 09:14 PM
too_thirsty - try the following test. Download this countdown loop, import it into a new Movie Maker project, add it to the timeline/storyboard and see if you can publish this as a movie (both DV-AVI and wmv).

I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand. -- Confucius
Previous Thread :: Next Thread 
Goto to page:  Prev Next
 
Movie Maker Forums  > Windows Movie Maker  > Windows Vista  > Re: Pulling hair out with encoding hang-ups